Do I Need To Define My Gender?

I’ve been puzzling over gender recently. I think I have some understanding of transgender because it implies a sense of crossing from one side to the other but what then is genderqueer?

This post explains one person’s thoughts and they’re beautifully expressed but have left me feeling confused. Is genderqueer just “other but not other enough”?

I’ve never liked dividing the world up by gender but that’s just because it results in a world where I don’t fit.
I mean I’m female, genetically and physically (you’ve seen the pictures) and I’m happy with my womanly curves; but I don’t fit the socially ideal image of woman.
Sure I like sex with men, but aside from enjoying a nice cock I also love strapping on my own and fucking my Boy. Where does that leave me?

I’m not really interested in makeup or girly things. Growing up I was often ‘one of the boys’ because the things I enjoyed doing were male dominated but I felt accepted as such.
Adults seem less flexible than teenagers though.

I want to be treated as a person, respected and engaged. Not categorised or dismissed because I happen to have breasts. I resent being treated differently because of my genitalia. I don’t want anyone to assume they know my interests or preferences, not least because you’ll probably guess wrong.

Yet despite identifying with many of the points Aerie made I don’t, at the moment, feel able to claim the label ‘genderqueer’ for myself. That to me implies admitting that who I am is not a normal woman, whereas I feel content that biology makes me female but that society should stop trying to limit me because of it.
And that should surely be true for all people, no matter what gender they claim, or even if they would prefer not to claim one at all.

Author: Caitlin

Geeky, kinky and poly. Discovering my Domme side. Sometimes NSFW and 18+.

Leave a Reply

