Sonnet Of Dreams

At night I let my mind take me to places I want to be, here is a little taste of where I sometimes go.

Sonnet III – Dreams

So lay me down, alone and in my bed,
Far from your side, yet closest now to thee.
Eluding me, sleep circles round my head
And weaves a web of dreams, of what might be.
Vows spoken once, in jest perhaps, I take,
Now hold them to my heart in jealous trust.
Each word of love believe in for love’s sake,
Till breath is gone and body turned to dust.
Restful my eyes are closed, my heart aflame,
As thoughts of love soothe wounds that day made sore.
I drift to sleep now whispering your name,
Secreted in my heart for evermore.
Now dream I thus our hearts always entwine,
Yet will I know the truth of this in time?

© Caitlin 2013

Author: Caitlin

Geeky, kinky and poly. Discovering my Domme side. Sometimes NSFW and 18+.

4 thoughts on “Sonnet Of Dreams”

    1. Well if anyone can suggest a site that would like sixteenth century expressions of a twentyfirst century girl’s fantasies then let me know.

      Caitlin

  1. I’m impressed. You have WS’s structure down perfectly, yet it sounds natural in contemporary English. Very nice.

    1. Thank you. It’s a style of poetry I’ve long loved (John Donne as well as Shakespeare) and it sets fascinating constraints on one’s expression, yet resonates with one’s heartbeat.

      Caitlin xx

Leave a Reply

