Lelo Mia 2 – Review

I don’t write many reviews because I don’t buy toys very often but in this case I was lucky enough to be given this as a present.

The initial unpacking was an absolute delight. The outer box was simply purple on one side with ‘LELO’ written on it and the reverse has a picture of the toy and a brief description of it. The inner box is completely black (with LELO embossed subtly upon it) and when opened the toy nestles in a black velvety recess. With it is a manual, a credit card like registration card and a sachet of lube.

The Lelo Mia 2 with my largest USB stick for comparison
The Lelo Mia 2 with my largest USB stick for comparison

The Mia 2 itself  is a small lipstick shaped object with a silver band around it. One end is the cap, which twists off to reveal the usb plug for charging. It arrived completely uncharged so the first thing I did was to plug it in to a computer for a while.

The Mia 2 is a little larger and heavier than most memory sticks so you might prefer to plug it in via a cable although it showed no signs of drooping on my computer. When plugged in an led flashes to let you know it’s charging and then glows continuously when charging is complete. As the only branding on the product is the ‘LELO’ on the cap when plugged in it is relatively discreet but the flashing led is bright enough to draw attention to it if people are curious.

While it was charging I decided to sit down with the manual and find out what my new toy could do. This was a slightly disappointing experience. The manual is one of those tiny but thick booklets written in several (twelve) languages. The English section is at the front, and the first couple of pages deals with the warranty information which, naturally, I skimmed over. The next section deals with charging and tells you only to use ‘original chargers provided by LELO’ an instruction I took with a pinch of salt.

Next came the part I was looking for: the controls. I was irritated to find instructions for three, four, two and one button interfaces in this section rather than just the instructions for the Mia 2. My OCD tendencies now flaring at the annoying order of these sections; I had to check which section I needed. I went and looked at my toy (still charging) and then read the relevant instructions.

Being a two button interface there are only plus and minus buttons. The plus turns it on and ramps up the power. Pressing and holding it for a couple of seconds allows you to switch between vibration modes. The minus button returns it to continuous vibration, lowers the power and eventually turns it off.

Having given the toy an initial charge it was time to take it for a test drive, literally. While Mat drove us to see friends, I sat next to him and experimented. There are six vibration patterns and I found one I liked, which I’d describe as waves (the manual failed to describe what the six ‘thrilling’ vibration patterns actually are) and settled back to enjoy it.

Enjoy I certainly did, while small it fits comfortably in my hand and was easy to position. The buttons are silicone covered so it’s easy enough to find them by touch (once you note which is nearest the metal band) and I managed to bring myself to a rather enjoyable orgasm with it.

One downside for me is that there is no power control over the alternative vibration patterns, which leaves some of them simply too strong and the vibration in my hand too intense for my gentle preferences. However between the wave pattern and the standard vibration I was well satisfied and I suspect there’s something here for everyone.

One nice thing is how quiet this toy seems. Even on full power this toy is not really very loud but it is sufficiently buzzy to be too loud to use in the toilets at work discreetly (yes, I tried, purely for research purposes you understand).

The manual also ‘helpfully’ suggests you ‘check whether your LELO is splash-proof or waterproof’. According to the outer box the Mia 2 is waterproof but I’m unsure how fully submersible it is so haven’t yet taken it to play in the bath although washing it under the tap showed no signs of leakage. The cap over the usb connector fits on and twists round a few degrees but it is such a slight twist that I wonder if it would be easy to dislodge during use. I may have to experiment further in this regard.

On the whole though, it is a beautiful, portable toy, which can be carried around easily and charged conveniently which makes it perfect for an ‘emergency wank‘ now and again.

Manufacturers statistics:

Materials: ABS Plastic / Phthalate-Free Silicone
Finish: Glossy ABS Plastic
Size: 111 x 22 x 22mm
Weight: 32g
Battery: Li-lon 70mAh 3.7V
Charging: 1 h at 5.0V 100mA
User Time: Up to 1.5 hours
Standby: Up to 90 days
Frequency: 120Hz
Max Noise Level*: < 50dB

*I attempted to confirm this measurement by holding the vibrator next to my phone running a sound measuring application and it read 55dB on low power and 70dB on full power but I have no measure of the applications accuracy.

Author: Caitlin

Geeky, kinky and poly. Discovering my Domme side. Sometimes NSFW and 18+.

7 thoughts on “Lelo Mia 2 – Review”

  1. thanks for the review. my first Lelo product, and my second, were beautifully packaged, but the controls were distracting, as was the multiple vibrating patterns. he didn’t like his Lelo cock ring either. It’s hard to throw $200 in the garbage, but after a two year relationship, Lelo was summarily evicted.from the toy box. I’m rooting for yours being a success. please let us know?

  2. Thanks for the informative review. I have one of the Mia 1.5s as I call them, which is the original Mia updated with the more powerful motor from the Mia 2, but without the waterproof shell, and I love it.

    Have to agree with VanillaKinkSundae about the cock ring though – disappointing level of vibrations.

    1. I did review a cock ring (not a Lelo) and the experience made me wonder if there is such a thing as a really good cock ring. I suspect these things are hard to get right.

Leave a Reply

