Flash Fiction Friday – 19 August 2011

Another story for Flash Fiction Friday. I guess I feel strongly about some things.

It was a beautiful afternoon.
My girlfriend and I had finally spent the night together, but eventually, reluctantly, we agreed it was time to get up. I got out of bed to make us coffee.

While the kettle boiled I sat down at my little table to wait.

She came out of the bedroom, not yet dressed; we had no need of clothes now. She sat down across the table from me and lit a cigarette.

Curls of smoke drifted away as she held it idly.
I put my head in my hands.
“You said you’d quit”.

Click here to read other stories.

Author: Caitlin

Geeky, kinky and poly. Discovering my Domme side. Sometimes NSFW and 18+.

16 thoughts on “Flash Fiction Friday – 19 August 2011”

  1. I’m definitely with you on this one. I dated a smoker once but only for a short time before I told her to quit if she wanted to stay with me. To her very great credit, she did indeed quit within the week and has never had another cigarette since. ‘Course, she left me a couple of years later, but that’s another story.

    Can’t imagine I’d react well if somebody told me she’d quit and then started with the breakfast cigarette. Nooooo thanks.

    Thanks to you, though, for playing along this week!

    — PB

    1. I had once had a boyfriend who was ‘quitting’. He continued to be quitting for several years and I was foolish enough to put up with it. Still, it provided inspiration for my story.

      Caitlin x

  2. Your words really suited the picture; bright, but then dejected. It is frustrating to love someone who does something that you find disgusting and that you know is hurting them, and yet be almost powerless to stop them. Ultimatums sometimes work, and sometimes don’t. Anyway, the tone of this was very apropos, subtle, and well-written.

  3. I like the quiet, subdued approach and just a hint of the passion that went on before this moment. Well done. It’s always fun to read other’s work and this was a good one.

  4. I dated someone who promised to quit smoking, because cigarette smoke is one of the things that gives me really bad headaches and makes me quite ill.

    But she didn’t have a shred of willpower and in the end used to deliberately smoke when I was around, which even her friends thought was really nasty.

    Smokers need to realise, that to a non-smoker, kissing them is basically like licking out an ash-tray, it’s vile. And sucking a mint does nothing, unless you follow it through by scrubbing out your lungs with a bog brush.

    1. Oh come now; if a smoker is going to scrub out their lungs so that I’ll kiss them then I’d rather they used something a little nicer. How about a toothbrush for those hard to reach corners?

Leave a Reply

