Our Anniversary

The beach

The reason our blog has been so quiet recently is that we have been on holiday, celebrating our wedding anniversary.

I have often thought that if I had to pick someone to be stranded on a desert island with, that it would be Perrin. Well, that’s exactly what we’ve been doing, and it’s been wonderful.

It goes without saying here that Perrin is the ‘one’ for me. We are compatible in so many ways. We manage to live together, eat together, work together (when possible), and our sex life is fantastic! It helps that we share so many things. The ability to eat curry every day for example (twice a day in fact).

It is certainly important to note though, that being happy together, miles from home and everyone we know, does not mean they are forgotten. Indeed, we have sat down and written postcards together, little messages to say “I may be a long way away, but I am thinking of you” to important people in our lives.

I was struck by the similarity of that to our wedding. The day when you say to so many “I want to be with this special person forever, and I love you so much I want you to be there too”.

That need to share with other people is a part of being human. If I had to pick only one person to be with, it would be Perrin, and life would be good; but we do not have to make such a choice.

Our anniversary itself was very special. We ate dinner together on the beach by candlelight. There were flowers on our table, champagne (nearly) and a beautiful (and delicious) cake. We danced together on the sand to the music of our first dance, where no one could see.

We went back to the bar then, full of love (and dinner), and Perrin took a picture of us sitting together in candlelight. As we talked; we watched another couple attempt to take a picture of themselves, with a tiny camera, holding it at arm’s length. At that point Perrin showed his true colours, in making it clear that he wanted to go and offer to take their picture.

I told him to go, and watched him make his way around the bar. Approaching different couples, introducing himself, and taking their picture. Compersion is (loosely defined as)  ‘happiness at your lover’s happiness’. Certainly sat to one side, watching him from a distance, my heart was full of joy to see him so in his element.

Even better was to come. When he returned we went back down to the beach, to look at the phosphorescent plankton forming a line of glowing blue along the shore. I stood on the shoreline, and he took a picture of me that also showed the glowing beauty around us. How typical of Perrin then, that he sent me back to the bar, to find that first couple, who had complained that they had been unable to photograph the plankton successfully, to offer them such a photograph.

This is the man I love. Who loves, and gives, and shares.
My beloved husband.

Perrin, thank you for giving me a place in your life.
I am yours, always and forever.

Author: Caitlin

Geeky, kinky and poly. Discovering my Domme side. Sometimes NSFW and 18+.

1 thought on “Our Anniversary”

Leave a Reply

